Keep Your Info Current!

When’s the last time you checked the contact information on your domain name registration?

I admit it. I’m not the best at making sure my information is current. I get the yearly ICAAN reminders to do so, but they end up in the “I’ll get to it” folder. We’ve run into situations a few times where out of date contact information causes a delay to getting a project going. Once, the client just gave up and changed his domain name (that’s a bit of a different story involving a bitter middleman that I’ll chat about later).

I was lucky today. I went to update a setting on a personal site and realized that the contact info was all out of date. The address and number were a few houses ago and worse, my email listed was one that I had long closed. Somehow, I remembered the password. If I hadn’t, it could have been a long and painful process to be granted access back to it.

Lesson learned.

If your email, phone number and/or address has changed since you’ve lasted updated your contact info, go change it. Change it now! If you need help with this, let us know. We’re always glad to help.

Leave a Reply

